Wisdom from the Past

 “Do not put such unlimited power into the hands of our husbands.  Remember all men would be tyrants if  they could. … If particular care and attention is not paid to the Ladies we are determined to forment a Rebellion, and will not hold ourselves bound by any Laws in which we have no voice, or Representation.” 

– Abigail Adams, letter to John Adams, March 31, 1776

Almost 250 years ago, women realized the need to have an equal say in society and saw the misgivings of their male counterparts.  (Shocker, I know.)

What surprises me the most in this quote are the strong words she uses in saying that women will not be bound by rules they did not set.  Those were strong words for the time, but necessary nonetheless.

This quote reminds me a bit of my two previous posts — as in why should I participate in these preconceived notions of how to live my life, when I never had any say in how those notions were created?

Leave a Reply

