Know when to say when?!

We had an event this week for work — it was a membership breakfast meeting where we invited a guest speaker, who is a political commentator.  The evening before, a few of us took the speaker to dinner.  One of my staff members & I flanked the speaker.  As the evening went on, he told political stories of past, that were entertaining for those of us political dorks…  Yes, entertainment for a very small audience.

At one point, this man crossed the line.  I didn’t know how to handle it.

The history of the Capitol is sketchy.  There are stories upon stories of getting prostitutes for legislators in order to deliver votes.  Drinks, food & any type of “entertainment” you can think of, were used to ensure an elected official voted a certain way.  I get that.  But those days are over — with a few rare exceptions.

At one point, he started telling stories of people I know & respect.  One of them is a female member of the Governor’s cabinet.  He told this story of a committee hearing he was at with her “back in the day” where her nipples were so hard, it literally delivered a handful of votes for her cause of the day.

WTF is that?!  At that point, I asked for the check in order to wrap up the evening.  I didn’t want to call him out on it because I was afraid he might bail on the following day’s breakfast.  Now I am wondering, do I make a call or send an e-mail to his speakers’ bureau?  Do I e-mail him directly?  I don’t know what to do, but I feel like I need to tell him the nature of that conversation was NOT okay.

Men are idiots!  Why do they put us in these positions?  And how come we aren’t allowed to smack them the moment they make some stupid comment?

 

 

Leave a Reply

